Home » , , » India’s all-win record against Pakistan

India’s all-win record against Pakistan

India trounce Pakistan by 29 runs;
to meet Lanka in World Cup Finals 

India’s all-win record against Pakistan in the World Cup continued as they defeated their arch rivals in the semifinals at the PCA stadium in Mohali on Wednesday.
Pakistan was all out for 231 giving India a victory margin of 29 runs.

India will face Sri Lanka in the finals at the Wankhede Stadium,Mumbai.

Harbhajan Singh was the most impressive bowler for India as he took the key wickets of Pakistan captain Afridi (19) and the dangerous looking Umar Akmal (29). Afridi was foxed with a full toss; the batsmen went for big hit but only managed to give a simple catch to Sehwag, while Umar Akmal was cleaned bowled.

It was Zaheer Khan who gave India the much needed breakthrough when he induced Kamran Akmal to a drive a wide ball straight to the throat of Yuvraj Singh at the point. Munaf Patel with his tight line and length rattled the stumps of the bigger hitter Razzaq (3) earlier  he removed the well-set Mohammad Hafeez (43), who tried to sweep an outside the off stump delivery and edged it to Dhoni.

Yuvraj, who failed with bat did his bit with the bowl as he took two crucial wickets of  Asad in the 24th over and then had Younis Khan caught at the cover. While the tail-enders Wahab Riaz  was caught by Tendulkar of the bowling of Nehra.

Earlier,electing to bat, India made 260 for nine against Pakistan. Tendulkar (85), who survived three dropped catches and a referral reversal, gave India a scintillating start with Virender Sehwag (38), racing to nine runs an over in the first five overs before a middle-order collapse saw them struggling at 205/6. Suresh Raina then scored a fighting 36 not out and batted intelligently with the tailenders to give India a fair total to keep them in the match after skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni opted to bat first.

Seeing he was running out of partners, Suresh Raina struck a few hefty blows to make sure that India, for once, didn’t falter in the bating powerplay (45-49 overs), scoring  43 runs for the loss of just one wicket.

Playing in front of the prime ministers of both the countries, Sehwag was in full form, stroking the ball fluently. He drove pacer Umar Gul's third delivery through the covers for a four to bring up his 1,000 runs against Pakistan. Gul, who has been one of Pakistan’s most successful bowlers in the tournament, did not know what hit him in his third over as Sehwag trounced him for five fours to garner 21 runs.

Tendulkar and Sehwag then came down heavily on Abdul Razzaq, prompting Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi to replace the veteran all-rounder with young Wahab Riaz and the left-arm pacer suddenly started posing problems with his angle and once started getting reverse swing he looked a difficult customer. He ended up with his maiden fifer -- five for 46.

Riaz struck immediately to break the 48-run opening stand by getting rid of Sehwag, who unsuccessfully challenged the leg-before decision. Sehwag hit nine fours in his 25-ball stay.
Tendulkar and Gautam Gambhir (27) then added 68-runs for the second wicket before off-spinner Mohammad Hafeez deceived Gambhir in flight to get him stumped. The dismissal triggered a collapse and India lost four wickets, including that of Dhoni’s for just 52 runs.
Riaz was on a hat-trick after he removed Virat Kohli (9) and in-form Yuvraj Singh but Dhoni (25) denied him.

Tendulkar, who had problems picking Ajmal's topspinner and the 'doosra,' hung in there with sheer determination, the three dropped catches and an lbw  referral review notwithstanding. Having got thus far he looked to get his hundredth international century.

Umpire Ian Gould, ruled Tendulkar lbw to offspinner Ajmal. After discussing with Gambhir, Tendulkar successfully challenged the decision and the review showed the ball was going down the legside, missing the stump.

Tendulkar, who struck 11 fours, survived another vociferous appeal off the next ball as he lunged forward and this time wicketkeeper Kamran Akmal whipped off the bails. Tendulkar's luck continued when he was dropped twice off skipper Shahid Afridi by the two senior most cricketers in the side, first by Misbah-Ul-Haq at short midwicket when he was on 27 and then by Younis Khan at short extracover when he was on 45.

Tendulkar got to his fifty in style by driving Afridi through extra cover for a four. In the 35th over, Tendulkar, on 81, survived another chance when Umar Akmal dropped a dolly at mid-wicket off Hafeez. Tendulkar, however, failed to capitalise on the third chance and departed after 12 balls with Afridi making sure he didn't drop this one. Tendulkar faced 115 balls.

Scoreboard of India's innings against Pakistan


Virender Sehwag lbw b Wahab Riaz 38
Sachin Tendulkar c Shahid Afridi b Saeed Ajmal 85
Gautam Gambhir st Kamran Akmal b Mohammad Hafeez 27
Virat Kohli c Umar Akmal b Wahab Riaz 9
Yuvraj Singh b Wahab Riaz 0
Mahendra Singh Dhoni lbw b Wahab Riaz 25
Suresh Raina not out 36
Harbhajan Singh st Kamran Akmal b Saeed Ajmal 12
Zaheer Khan c Kamran Akmal b Wahab Riaz 9
Ashish Nehra run out (Kamran Akmal/Wahab Riaz) 1
Munaf Patel not out 0

Extras: (lb 8, w 8, nb 2) 18    

Total: (9 wickets; 50 overs) 260

Fall of wickets: 1-48 (Sehwag, 5.5 overs), 2-116 (Gambhir, 18.5), 3-141 (Kohli, 25.2), 4-141 (Yuvraj Singh, 25.3), 5-187 (Tendulkar, 36.6), 6-205 (Dhoni, 41.4), 7-236 (Harbhajan Singh, 46.4), 8-256 (Khan, 49.2), 9-258 (Nehra, 49.5)


Umar Gul 8-0-69-0 
Abdul Razzaq 2-0-14-0 
Wahab Riaz 10-0-46-5
Saeed Ajmal 10-0-44-2
Shahid Afridi 10-0-45-0  
Mohammad Hafeez 10-0-34-1

Toss: India, who chose to bat

Umpires: Ian Gould (England) and Simon Taufel (Australia)
TV umpire: Billy Bowden (New Zealand)
Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (Sri Lanka)
Reserve umpire: Rod Tucker (Australia)

Get Updates!

Subscribe to the Scholars club email newsletter to receive updates, freebies and exclusives:
Enter your email address:
==>Help us to keep SCHOLARS CLUB running?
Share this article :

Post a Comment